Santa Fe Rice and Beans

Standard

Do you ever see those lovely frozen dinners that appear to be so healthy? You know, the Smart Ones, Lean Cuisine, Healthy Choice? When I see those, I either immediately think, “Holy Cow, that looks amazing!” or “Who the heck would ever actually eat that?!” Of course the ones that I think look so delicious are typically the ones with the highest fat content, and or sodium, go figure. Yes they are convenient, likely better for you than fast food, but in my book, it’s like the equivalent of going out to eat.

First of all, I don’t have to wash any dishes. (Best part of eating out) I don’t have to really cook. However, I also do not know exactly what’s in the food I’m eating. Have you ever looked at one of the ingredient lists?

With that being said, I took my favorite Smart One’s meal, and recreated it myself. It doesn’t taste exactly like the one in the package, but it’s pretty darn close. It also continues on with another one of my favorite cooking themes, hiding vegetables from my husband.

Santa Fe Rice and Beans (long version)

1 tsp olive oil

4 cloves of garlic (minced)

1 zucchini

1/2 large onion

1/2 red bell pepper

1/2 green bell pepper

1 cup of frozen corn

Chili Powder to taste

Cumin to taste

Coriander to taste

Red pepper flakes if you like a little extra kick

1 can dark red kidney beans

1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes (diced would work fine too)

1 Package Uncle Ben’s precooked brown rice

 

1. Cut up all veggies. Warm olive oil in a large skillet. Dump in all veggies, cook about 3 minutes.

Yeah all those veggies are in there and my husband ate it!

 

2. Add crushed tomatoes, and season to your liking. You can always add more seasoning later on. We are very seasoning/spice happy in this house.

3. Drain and rinse the beans. Add them into the skillet. Cut open the bag of rice and add that in too. Cook on low about 10 minutes to heat through and let all the flavors mesh. Or if you are impatient while cooking like me, turn up the heat higher until it’s heated through and just eat!

Serve with fat free or reduced fat cheese, and or sour cream.  It makes A LOT, plenty for lunch the next day.

If the above seems to complicated try the “Quick and Dirty” version.

1. Rice

2. Salsa

3. Beans
Throw it all together, heat it up and eat it.

 

Leave a Reply

